#WCW – Horikita Maki 堀北真希

Woman Crush Wednesday

Horikita Maki
堀北真希

I LOVE HER. Hands down, she is my #1 Japanese actress of this generation. I love most of her work and, especially, her as a person. I know people tend to call her Borikita/Borikitty because she seems “boring.” I could care less. I find her endearing, cute, shy, and, most importantly, a kind person. Horikita Maki hasn’t really stuck to one type of role, thank goodness. It’d be terrible if she were type-casted all the time. However, I would like to see her do something that requires heavy action scenes. Her image is that of pure and innocent; a total contrast to her BFF Kuroki Meisa. Also, she is currently one of the top actresses with about 11 or so endorsement deals. Heyyy~ GET MONEY!

DRAMAS

When I first saw her, it was in Densha Otoko as the male lead’s annoying sister. While she didn’t stand out all too much, or at all, I did find her character annoying haha. Her next work soon after, and what I like to call one of her most memorable, was Nobuta wo Produce. Nobuta wo Produce is such a precious drama to me and she nailed her role as the awkward/shy Kotani Nobuko aka Nobuta. To me, this drama gave her the opportunity for more roles (of the supporting kind). Hey, roles are roles. It’s better than forever being 5th supporting. The following year, she would be reunited with Yamapi, her costar from Nobuta. I rejoiced when this happened because I shipped their characters in Nobuta to the end of the damned thing and I didn’t get what I wanted. Kurosagi was a hit .. and I still didn’t get a satisfactory OTP ending to that. LOL. I believe Kurosagi gave her the chance to be lead in Teppan Shoujo Akane!! That drama was okay, it was a fun and easy watch. It definitely wasn’t a complex drama, nor was it memorable.

Next came Seito Shokun!, which is a supporting role. I actually loved her performance in it, despite the sub-par, typical plot of rebellious students who needs their teacher’s help. Now .. Hanazakari no Kimitachi e is the drama that really shot her to stardom. Actually, everyone who was in it practically became a star in their own right. It really launched the careers of more than half the male stars. 2008 proved to be a very busy year for her. She had drama specials, filmed the latter half of the taiga Atsu-hime, and starred in her first getsu9 – Innocent Love. I have a weak spot for Innocent Love. While the ratings weren’t so high, I thought she did a great job as the female lead. Kitagawa Yuujin was alright, but he didn’t quite sell it for me. For 2009, she had a drama special and the ever-so-awesome Atashinchi no Danshi. I do not need to explain my love for AtaDan😄 My review of the series pretty much says it all. The next drama would be Tokujo Kabachi!!, costarring Sakurai Sho of Arashi. While the drama was decent, I loved their chemistry more. In 2010, she also had another great breakthrough in her first stage play as Joan de Arc. While I have not seen it (I WISH!), I heard that the reviews were very good and she was well received. Umareru was .. okay. It mainly focused on issues regarding late pregnancy, which I felt to be quite educational. 2012. The year that made her an even bigger star. Why? Asadora that’s why. Ume-chan Sensei has recorded some of the highest ratings in asadora history. Although each episode is only 15 minutes, they run every day. The drama was so so so cute! Her and Matsuzaka Tori’s chemistry was just perfect. Miss Pilot, hmmm. There isn’t much to say about it. I thought it was alright, but it didn’t really stand out to me. For 2014, she hasn’t had a drama just yet. She has done her 2nd stage play though and an episode in Oyaji no Senaka. But, I haven’t seen it .. yet.🙂

Check out her dramawiki here: CLICK!

MOVIES

So, I haven’t seen every movie she’s been in. However, I have seen the ones that I could get my hands on. And they are: Cosmic Rescue, Gakkyou Nine, Sekai no Chuushin de Ai o Sakebu, HINOKIO, Always (all 3), Trick Movie 2, One Missed Call FINAL, Koisuru Nichiyoubi Watashi Koishita, Kurosagi, Tokyo Boy, Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac, Ooku, Byakuyako, and Ataru: The First Love & The Last Kill. Most of those listed I enjoyed. Kurosagi left an even bigger hole in my heart because of it’s open-end. I am actually surprised I really enjoyed Tokyo Boy, she left a very good impression on me with that film. One Missed Call FINAL .. I’ll be honest. I only watched it because I saw the drama and movies before that one. I knew she could play dark/creepy characters, but she thoroughly creeped me out in One Missed Call FINAL. I watched Cosmic Rescue because of my love for V6. Haha. Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac felt weird to me. I liked it, but the MatsuKen’s character just felt so complex. Well, the character in the book is complex as well but, it didn’t feel as though he was explained enough. I don’t know! See, that’s how confused I felt with it. Her greatest movie role, so far and to me, will always be in the the Always series. She was just so cute and natural as the country bumpkin. I loved it! Not just her, the entire cast and story just hits really close to home.

 

Reviewed Works

Atashinchi no Danshi
Hanazakari no Kimitachi e
Kurosagi
Nobuta wo Produce
Tokujo Kabachi!!

PICTURES


Leave a Reply

